Pack 43's
Home Page
What is Cub Scouting
Why Become a Scout
What is a Bobcat
Scout Dictionary
How can you help
Youth Protection
Code Of Conduct
Pinewood Derby 2020

Cub Scout Pack 43
(Safety Harbor, Florida)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

The Language of Cub Scouting

Cub Scouting has a language all its own. If you are not familiar with it, below are definitions of many terms you will encounter as you get more and more involved in the program.

To earn a rank badge, Tigers, Wolves, Bear Cub, and Webelos Scouts must complete Achievements established for well rounded growth. The achievements cover these areas: God, Country, Family and Self.  Each rank has specific requirements and time frame for the scout to reach the next level in the Cub Scouts.


Activity Badge
There are 20 Activity Badges a Webelos Scout can earn. These are divided into 5 areas: Physical, Mental, Technology, Outdoor, and Community. A pin is presented for completion of each Activity Badge.

Akela is a symbol of wisdom, authority, and leadership.  Akela is anyone who acts as a leader to the Scout.  Akela is typically a Cubmaster, but is also the Den Leader, parent or teacher depending on where the guidance takes place. The Scouting program has used themes from The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling since 1916. 

Arrow of Light
This is the highest award a scout can earn in Cub Scouting - also the ONLY (non-religious) award from Cub Scouts which can be worn on a Boy Scout Uniform.


Arrow Points
Arrow Points are awarded to Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts for completion of electives beyond the Achievements covered for earning the Wolf or Bear rank badge. A Gold Arrow Point is awarded for the first 10 electives; a Silver Arrow Point is awarded for each successive 10 electives completed.


Bear Cub
These are generally third grade Cub Scouts, who work on activities in the areas God, Country, Family and Self. Of the 24 possible Achievements, they must complete a prescribed amount in each area, for a total of 12.


Every boy or girl who joins Cub Scouts must first earn the Bobcat badge. Doing this, he learns the seven basic tenets of Cub Scouting: the Promise, the Law of the Pack, the sign, the handshake, the motto, the salute, and what Webelos means.


Boy Scout
A Boy Scout is between the ages of 11 and 18 and belongs to a Troop. He advances through these ranks: Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, then Eagle.


Boy Scouts of America (BSA)
The Boy Scouts of America is a nationally chartered organization that encompasses Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Explorer Units, and Varsity Units.

Abbreviation of Boy Scouts of America.

Class A
The Field Uniform everyone associates with Scouting. The official uniform shirt, belt, hat, and kneckerchief.  It is available with long or short sleeves and has button-flap pockets and "Boy Scouts of America" lettered in gold above the right pocket. This is the formal uniform that must be worn to events and Pack meetings. 

Class B
The official Cub Scout t-shirt of the Pack, Rank, or BSA. This shirt can be worn in place of the Class A when authorized by the Cubmaster, or Den Leader.  This is the uniform to be worn at Den meetings in place of the Class A.   
This is the group of adult volunteers who "run" the Pack. Any interested adult is welcome to attend Committee meetings.


The Council is an organization of professional Scouters that oversees all Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops and other units in an area. 


Court of Honor
A Court of Honor is a special awards ceremony. Awards may be presented at any Pack meeting, but there is a special ceremony for presentation of awards at a Court of Honor.


Cub or Cub Scout
A Cub Scout is any member of Boy Scouts in first through fifth grade (or age 6 - 11 in Grades 1-5).


The Cubmaster is the chief adult volunteer leader. The Cubmaster runs the Pack meetings, and advises all other leaders.


The Den is a group of Cub Scouts who meeet at regular intervals. Ideally, a den consists of 6 to 8 scouts who are all working toward the same rank.


Den Leader
The adult volunteer who is in charge of planning and running den meetings is the Den Leader.


Den Meeting
Individual Den Meetings are held for each rank level of Cub Scouts. These occur at a regular intervals, such as weekly or bi-weekly. Wolf and Bear dens work on fun projects, crafts, skits, or some of their Achievements. Webelos dens use this time to work on the various Activity Badges.


Each Council is divided into a number of Districts and oversees the activities of all Units in the District.
Opening / Closing Ceremony
An opening ceremony signals the beginning of the Pack and den meetings. In Pack 43 all meetings begin with posting the Colors, pledge of allegiance, and Cub Scout promise.  The closing ceremony involves retiring of the flag to signify the end of our time together.


The whole group - all of our dens and families together is called a Pack. The Pack usually meets once every month.


Rank Badges
The Rank Badges, in order, are: Bobcat, Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos.


Each Unit must have a sponsoring organization, such as a church, service club, etc.


Tiger Cub
Tiger Cubs are first grader who, with an adult partner, participate in several of 17 Big Ideas. The Tiger Cub program serves as an introduction to the Cub Scout program. Tiger Cubs and their families are often encouraged to participate in Pack events.


Tiger Partner
The adult partner of a Tiger Cub, usually a family member, is the Tiger Partner.


The Uniform is the prescribed clothing for any and all official Cub Scout events. 

Webelos means WE'll BE LOyal Scouts.


Webelos Scout
These are fourth and fifth grade Cub Scouts, who work on up to 20 Activity Badges in the den setting. These activities are designed to prepare kids for the merit badge methodology utilized in Boy Scouts.


Wolf Cub
These are generally second grade Cub Scouts, who work on 12 Achievements, mostly in the home setting. Arrow Points are awarded for work done on a multitude of electives.


Each individually chartered Pack, Troop, Post or Lodge is a Unit.